Feeling Patriotic

It’s been a busy vacation week for me, but I finally decided to slow down a little bit today. I was sifting through my fabrics and was inspired when I found this fun red and white striped canvas material, given to me by a family friend from their gorgeous, old farmhouse.

Funky Farmhouse Fabric

Perfect for an Independence Day project, right?  Because there wasn’t a large volume of this fabric (as most of you know, I only use repurposed and salvaged materials in my GOOT business), I had to think small.  So, I decided to make 2 decorative accent pillows of different sizes, perfect for your patio!

 

Independence Tree

I came up with the idea to make a tree first (called the Independence Tree) and started cutting out different shapes with card stock to make my pattern.   I took this great fabric and some scraps from a pair of denim jeans I used for another project and just started cutting.  And guess what?  Even the stuffing in these pillows was reused!

 

 

Freedom Flower

I wasn’t left with much canvas fabric after that, so I made a longer, smaller pillow with an appliqued Freedom Flower.

These looke so cute on my patio and would be very festive for a BBQ on the 4th.  Check out my “Red, White & Blue Jeans Decorative Pillows” in my GOOT shop and see the many other ways I’ve used repurposed materials to create things for you and your home!

Red, White & Blue Jeans Decorative Pillows

About dreamingthepossible

What began as individual hopes and dreams has rapidly become a radical dream of our own as we start our almost married life together. Follow us as we make some big changes in our lives to spend less money, produce less waste, nurse our planet back to health, and even attempt to pay our brand new mortgage in 5 years or less.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

