The New Commute

Aug 3, 2010Andrew

So last week I began using my ‘new’ bike to get to work (thank you Chris Balish!).  It’s a 21 mile commute, and as I am nowhere near that level of riding fitness, my method is to ride to the downtown Schen CDTA stop, load up my bike and cruise to Saratoga, then ride the few hundred yards to my office.  It’s 4 miles to the downtown stop, which meanders east then north for an hour on the bus.  But I found another stop straight north of us, 8 miles up Rt 146.  It’s 20 minutes more biking, but about 20 minutes less bussing.  So I tried this one on my way home.  It’s a much tougher ride, but man it felt good!  So I think my route is going to be short ride to bus in the AM (less sweaty when I arrive) then the long ride home (better workout).  Pretty perfect system!

The obvious drawback is that doing this does take a great deal more time out of my day.  I’m out of the house about an extra 90 minutes, 12 hours total now.  It’s a bit tough when there’s so much else we want to do together, and do for the house.  I don’t know if this is going to work out, it may be too much for our collective satisfaction (and sanity), but I know it can be done.  Court’s been incredibly supportive of this latest initiative (and very cool on driving me to the stop when the weather is bad).  If we can do it, I plan to sell the Lancer in a few months (gasp!).  More to come…

About dreamingthepossible

What began as individual hopes and dreams has rapidly become a radical dream of our own as we start our almost married life together. Follow us as we make some big changes in our lives to spend less money, produce less waste, nurse our planet back to health, and even attempt to pay our brand new mortgage in 5 years or less.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

